Why Did the Chicken Cross the Road? To Get to the Chicken Tortilla Soup…

Did you know the average Thanksgiving meal contains 4,000 calories?

I learned this from some signs at work advertising a “Burn the Bird” boot camp at our fitness center. During this boot camp, the gym promises I’ll burn the 4,000 calories by working out for 45 minutes a day for the next two weeks, preparing me to gorge to my heart’s content on T-day. How could I say no to that? Sweet!

I knew I wouldn’t want to come home and cook after boot camp. So, I made a whole mess of food yesterday and stocked the fridge and freezer so I wouldn’t even have to think about food preparation this week.

Tonight we heated up some of Pioneer Woman’s Chicken Tortilla Soup. Love this stuff! She is right when she says don’t skimp on the toppings. We loaded it up with some fresh avocado, onion, cheese and toasted corn tortilla strips.

According to one happy cook and one sleepy cook who just got home from Vegas, this soup is zesty, spicy, tomato-ey, and highly satisfying.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

