The ABCs of Apple Butter Canning

Apple Butter Canning, the trailer: the house smelled of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves as the apples caramelized and broke down over night. The butter was smooth and sweet yet tart. If you can follow instructions, boil water and have a timer, you can can.

Apple Butter Canning, the full length feature film:

The project started Saturday night when I peeled, cored and sliced 21 apples for this Slow Cooker Apple Butter. Peeling the apples was time consuming but somehow cathartic. Today I bought this Apple Peeler/Corer/Slicer to expedite the process for the next go around.

I used this project as an excuse to go to Penzey’s and buy some fresh cinnamon, clove, nutmeg and vanilla. I made 1.5x the original recipe and used 1 regular and 1 small slow cooker. The house smelled incredible when I woke up in the morning. I immersion blended the chunky mixture and sure enough, it turned out “like butta.” Magnifique!

Then, it was onto the canning.

I did my homework and read the USDA Complete Guide to Home Canning this week to be sure I didn’t poison anyone. It has all the deets you need to know. There are lots of important steps, but if you buy this awesome Granite Ware Canning Kit like I did, you’ll have everything you need.

I boiled the jars, filled them, boiled them again and listened for that little “ping!” indicating they have good seals.

I didn’t want my apple butter to go naked, so I dressed it up with some cupcake liners a la Martha and stickers made with my cool personalized embosser that was a gift from Mama Hearne, my mother-in-law.

So, what should we can next? What have you canned? Send me your recipes!

20131027-204235.jpg

20131027-204244.jpg

20131027-204259.jpg

20131027-204306.jpg

20131027-204313.jpg

20131027-204323.jpg

20131027-204333.jpg

20131027-204406.jpg

20131027-204413.jpg

20131027-204419.jpg

6 comments

  1. Dan

    That was a signature food at Stephenson’s Apple Orchard restaurant for decades. Since they’re out of business, we can once again enjoy this treat! It tastes great on fresh rolls, toast or apple fritters.

Leave a Reply

