Legendary BBQ Joints

Being home and in Oklahoma last week inspired me to share some BBQ joints with you that hold a special place in my heart. Through the years, Mike has become a big fan and BBQ connoisseur, too.

1. Oklahoma Joe’s, Kansas City, Olathe and Leawood, KS

A trip home to KC isn’t complete without a stop at Oklahoma Joe’s. The original location is in a gas station, which adds to the charm of this legendary but somewhat newer addition to the KC BBQ scene. We typically pick up from the Olathe location, conveniently located next to Tractor Supply Company in the “armpit of Johnson County.”

Oklahoma Joe’s food is just the best. They make our hands down favorite ribs – they’re smokey, tender perfection. The brisket is fantastic, the sauces are incredible, and even the french fries are addictive. But don’t just take my word for it – Oklahoma Joe’s has rightfully earned numerous awards and accolades. It even made the list of Anthony Bordain’s “13 Places to Eat Before You Die,” alongside The French Laundry and elBulli. It’s worth a special trip to KC!

OK Joe's BBQ Sauce

The Real Deal.

Come to mama.

Come to mama.

OK Joe's Food

At OK Joe's with the fam.

At OK Joe’s with the fam.

2. Mahylon’s, Muskogee, OK

A Wednesday night dinner in the back room of Mahylon’s typically kicks off our annual Thanksgiving pilgrimage to Muskogee. Last year, Grandpa Phil gave me a good talking to about my $7.50 glass of Merlot… next time I better stick to beer like everybody else. This year we skipped Mahylon’s for our family Hanukkah party, but luckily I have this great t-shirt I can put on whenever I want. I’m not actually an Okie from Muskogee, but my dad is!

mahylons

okie

3. My Place, Muskogee, OK

My Place is the standard Friday farewell lunch spot for our Oklahoma Thanksgiving tradition. There is absolutely nothing special about this place – not the name, the ambiance or the food. But, somehow it’s been in business since 1927, and we continue to go back year after year, so they must be doing something right.

Boys and their 'cue.

Boys and their ‘cue.

my place inside

As American as Old Glory.

As American as Old Glory.

 

What’s your favorite BBQ joint?

Until We Eat Again,

Two Happy Cooks

Leave a Reply

