The Loaf Pan Lasagna Experiment

Let’s face it… Mike and I don’t really need an entire pan of lasagna. I found this pint-sized recipe for Butternut Squash and Kale Lasagna when looking for ideas of what to do with my awesome new loaf pan (thanks Erica and Galina!), and was very excited to try it out.

This recipe was experimental for a few reasons: 1. I had never actually sliced a butternut squash; 2. I had never made kale anything; and 3. the recipe called for regular noodles, but I really wanted to try the no-boil variety.

Butternut squash, while delicious, intimidates me in its natural form. I usually prefer to buy the pre-diced kind rather than risk losing a digit while chopping. This time, I faced my fears and came out unscathed thanks to this video. Pro tip – microwave the squash for 2-3 minutes before slicing to make life a little easier.

I also experienced the miracle of no-boil lasagna noodles for the first time. Supposedly you need to add a little extra sauce so they soften properly, but this wasn’t a very saucy recipe and they turned out adequately tender. The best part was the noodles fit perfectly in the loaf pan… it’s like they were made for each other.

The experiment was a delicious success. It gave us the right amount for about 2 dinners, and was a nice change of pace from regular meat lasagna. Yum!

Until We Eat Again,

Two Happy Cooks

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

