Salted Caramel Cheesecake Pie

Fear of failure is a tempting reason to avoid trying something new. One way to overcome that fear is to face it head on. I overcame a few fears and past failures in the process of making this killer Salted Caramel Cheesecake Pie.

  1. The Food Processor: The food processor is my arch nemesis. On my best days, I can’t put the thing together; on my worst, I injure myself on the super sharp blade. This recipe requires food processing of ginger snaps. It took some deliberation and trial and error, but I ended up with a “fine crumb” and no blood. I’ll count that as a win.
  2. Cheesecake: Cheesecake is Mike’s favorite dessert. While tasty, my cheesecakes of years past have ended up with cracks down the middle. This recipe calls for putting a pan of boiling water under the cheesecake as it bakes in the oven. Miraculously, it worked – creamy cheesecake and no cracks.
  3. Caramel: I had never tried making caramel myself, but I had visions of misread candy thermometers and scorched sugar stuck to the bottom of my saucepan. Happily, I avoided both fatalistic outcomes. This recipe doesn’t even require a candy thermometer, and is hard to mess up.

What are your foodie fears?

Until We Eat Again,

Two Happy Cooks

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

