Just Can’t Wait

From Mike, our resident smoker…

I heard the temperature was going to be over 60 this Sunday and I just couldn’t wait to get the smoker fired up.  The night before, I injected the 8 lb. brisket with beef broth to keep it moist and rubbed the meat with a rub recipe from our favorite BBQ restaurant, Oklahoma Joe’s. 

The next morning, I went to get the smoker ready. #!$&@!.  I had forgotten there was still snow … two feet deep … all the way from our house to the smoker.  Too late.  I was in too deep.  An hour of shoveling later, I started the smoker with lump hardwood charcoal, added hickory chunks, and threw on the meat.

The brisket cooked for about 4-5 hours in the smoker.  When it reached an internal temperature of 170F, I took it off the smoker and finished it in the oven.  Alli and I love brisket and this dish was great.  It was a little drier than we had hoped, so we stored the leftovers with some additional beef broth.  It was even better today.

Until we eat again,

Two Happy Cooks

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

One comment

Leave a Reply

