C is for Cookie

Last week, social media informed me that it was National Chocolate Chip Cookie Day. This nationwide cookie extravaganza, along with Cookie Monster staring at me from every 4th diaper Sam wears, inspired me to resurrect an old standby – the classic Nestle Tollhouse Chocolate Chip Cookies.

I enjoy the process of making these even more than the finished product. And by “process,” I mean inhaling the cookie dough. I’ve abstained from this sinful act for the past nine months as raw cookie dough is probably on the “avoid” list for pregnant ladies.  While I’m willing to risk my own life for cookie dough, I managed to steer clear at the chance of endangering our unborn child.

This is the chocolate chip cookie dough of my childhood. It’s the one my mom made, the one I sloppily concocted as a beginning baker in high school, leaving a floury mess in my wake. It’s not fancy or foodie – just timeless, simple and yummy.

I’ve learned a thing or two about baking since I first made these cookies. For example – leave your butter and eggs out for a few hours before starting so they’re room temperature. Spoon your flour into the measuring cup rather than scooping so your dough isn’t too floury. Don’t over mix or overbake. Use a scooper to achieve evenly sized cookies.

All of that is beside the point when it comes to the sweet, salty, buttery, chocolatey dough. You will clean off the beater with you finger, and then have a spoonful, and then another spoonful. It is irresistible. As Mike said of the dough, “it makes me happy in my soul.”

Tasting this dough was like coming home.

Until We Eat Again,

Two Happy Cook(ies)

Leave a Reply

