Banana Bread Confessions

Confession: I am impatient. The good news is there are some definite perks to being impatient, like today when I discovered how to transform bananas from yellow to black in 20 minutes. Because when you want banana bread, who wants to wait four days for the bananas to ripen?

  
I’ve had banana bread on my mind since I saw on Sam’s daycare menu that he and his friends enjoyed it for their mid-morning snack. It’s such a genius toddler food idea – it’s soft, it’s sweet and we often have extra bananas on hand. And while it’s basically cake, it’s called “banana bread” so maybe people won’t judge me for serving it to my toddler. His life is a constant meal so I’m always looking for new ideas and willing to try just about anything.

   
 With only 4 yellow bananas on hand, I turned to Epicurious for a hack. Low and behold, all you have to do is bake your bananas at 250 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes and they will turn from yellow to banana bread-perfect. While the black peel may look alarming, the insides turned out to be soft, sweet and ready to be baked.

  
I once learned that banana bread is one of the most searched-for recipes because everyone wants a use for their overripe bananas. As a result, there are approximately one zillion banana bread recipes in the world and everyone is partial to their own. Epicurious’s Favorite Banana Bread is pretty great – it calls for dark brown sugar and sour cream to give it a little extra depth of flavor. With regard to banana bread, I am firmly on team No Nuts, so I left those out.

  
My parents, Mike, Sam and I impatiently ate the banana bread warm soon after it came out of the oven, and it was everything I hoped it would be.

What’s your banana bread confession?

Until We Eat Again,

Two Happy Cooks

Leave a Reply

